

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 27 of 2019

CITY OF CORK LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2019

S.I. No. 27 of 2019

CITY OF CORK LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2019

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the City of Cork Local Electoral Areas Order 2019.
- 2. (1) The City of Cork shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
 - (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
 - (3) The number of members of Cork City Council to be elected for each local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. (1) Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
 - (2) Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to the City of Cork shall be construed as a reference to the City of Cork as provided for under the Local Government Act 2019.
 - (3) Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to a townland shall be construed as referring to such townland as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. The 31st day of January 2019 is appointed as the day on which this Order comes into operation.
- 5. The City of Cork Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 428 of 2008) is revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigúil" of 8th February, 2019.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Cork City North East	The electoral divisions of Blackpool A, Blackpool B, Mayfield, Montenotte A, Montenotte B, St. Patrick's A, St. Patrick's B, St. Patrick's C, The Glen A, The Glen B, Tivoli A and Tivoli B as described in the County Borough of Cork (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 246 of 1970) and therein referred to as a ward; in the electoral division of St. Mary's (part); the townlands of Ballincolly, Ballincrokig and Kilbarry; and that part of the townland of Ballyvolane that is contained within the electoral division of St. Mary's (part);	6
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Caherlag, Rathcooney (Part) and Riverstown that are contained within the City of Cork.	
Cork City North West	The electoral divisions of Churchfield, Commons, Fair Hill A, Fair Hill B, Fair Hill C, Farranferris A, Farranferris B, Farranferris C, Gurranebraher A, Gurranebraher B, Gurranebraher C, Gurranebraher D, Gurranebraher E, Knocknaheeny, Shanakiel, Shandon A, Shandon B, Sundays Well A and Sundays Well B as described in the County Borough of Cork (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 246 of 1970) and therein referred to as a ward; in the electoral division of St. Mary's (part);	6

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area .	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
	the townlands of Ballycannon, Ballygrohan, Ballysheedy, Clogheen, Coolymurraghue, Killard, Killeens, Knocknacullen East, Knocknagorty, Mount Desert; and those parts of the townlands of Commons, Garranabraher and Knocknacullen West that are contained within the electoral division of St. Mary's (part); and those parts of the electoral divisions of Blarney,	
	Carrigrohanebeg, Matehy and Whitechurch that are contained within the City of Cork.	
Cork City South Central	The electoral divisions of Ballyphehane A, Ballyphehane B, Centre A, Centre B, City Hall A, Evergreen, Gillabbey A, Gillabbey B, Gillabbey C, Greenmount, Mardyke, Pouladuff A, Pouladuff B, South Gate A, South Gate B, The Lough, Togher B, Tramore A, Tramore B, Tramore C, Turners Cross A, Turners Cross B, Turners Cross C and Turners Cross D as described in the County Borough of Cork (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 246 of 1970) and therein referred to as a ward; in the electoral division of Lehenagh; the townlands of Ballycurreen, Curraghconway, Grange and Inchisarsfield; and in the electoral division of Douglas; the townlands of Ballinvuskig, Rathmacullig East and Rathmacullig West;	6

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Cork City South East	The electoral divisions of Ballinlough A, Ballinlough B, Ballinlough C, Browningstown, City Hall B, Knockrea A, Knockrea B, Mahon A, Mahon B, and Mahon C as set out in the County Borough of Cork (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 246 of 1970) and therein referred to as a ward;	6
	in the electoral division of Douglas;	
	the townlands of Ardarrig, Ballinimlagh Ballybrack, Castletreasure, Douglas, Grange, Hop Island, Knocknamullagh, Maryborough, Moneygurney, Monfieldstown, Mounthovel, Oldcourt, Rochestown;	
	and that part of the townland of Ballyorban that is contained within the City of Cork;	
	and	
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Carrigaline (in the former rural district of Cork) and Monkstown Rural that are contained within the City of Cork.	
Cork City South West	The electoral divisions of Bishopstown A, Bishopstown B, Bishopstown C, Bishopstown D, Bishopstown E, Glasheen A, Glasheen B, Glasheen C and Togher A as described in the County Borough of Cork (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 246 of 1970) and therein referred to as a ward;	7
	those parts of the townlands of Ballinaspig More and Inchigaggin that are contained within the electoral division of Bishopstown (part);	
	in the electoral division of Lehenagh;	

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area .	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
	the townlands of Ballyduhig North, Gortagoulane, Lehenagh Beg and Lehenagh More;	
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Ballincollig, Ballygarvan, Inishkenny and Ovens that are contained within the City of Cork.	

GIVEN under my Hand, 31 January 2019

JOHN PAUL PHELAN

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of Cork City into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Cork City Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434)

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434)



€3.00